History & Milestones

2.4

Dr Edward H. Paterson, a missionary doctor from England, had been the medical superintendent of the Alice Ho Miu Ling Nethersole Hospital and founding medical superintendent of the United Christian Hospital. As a surgical specialist, Dr Paterson also excelled at hospital planning and management. He spearheaded the concept of community nursing, and became a pioneer in community nursing service, which promoted the "Health Care System Without Walls" in Hong Kong.

Adhering to “Hospital without Walls” concept from the founder Dr Edward H. Paterson*, United Christian Nethersole Community Health Service (UCN) has been striving to promote "Leading a Health Life" with primary health care and providing professional, comprehensive and affordable medical services to the community for more than 40 years.

 

When United Christian Hospital was still under planning stage in the 1960s, Dr Paterson foresaw the capacity of the hospital would fall short of meeting the needs of the Kwun Tong population. Therefore, he spread the forces previously concentrated in the hospital to the community and let the medical staff to enter the community for the works of prevention, education and diagnosis by the concept of “Hospital without Walls”. In 1972, he set up the "Kwun Tong Community Health Project" to go beyond the hospital walls and extend health care services to the community. This constituted a good foundation for UCN’s development of primary healthcare service.

 

On 16 March 1972, the first community health centre was opened in Sau Mau Ping Estate, which provided health promotion, education, prevention, diagnosis, rehabilitation, and community support service to the publics.

 

“Kwun Tong Community Health Project” merged with “Nethersole Community Health Service” on 1 April 1997 to inaugurate as “United Christian Nethersole Community Health Service”.

 

Over the years, UCN has keeping pace with the social development and meeting the increasing demand for healthcare services arising from different segments of the community. We have set up community health centres and medical centres in Kowloon and the New Territories to provide the publics with preventive medicine and clinical service, dental care, health maintenance, Chinese medicine, community nutrition, physiotherapy, psychological counselling, diagnosis and social services, etc. With the mission of “Leading a Healthy Life”, UCN engages the population in promoting their own health as well as the health of the communities.

online booking

發展歷程

2.4

巴治安醫生(Dr Edward H. Paterson)是來自英國的醫療宣教士,曾任雅麗氏何妙齡那打素醫院院長,亦是基督教聯合醫院創院院長。他是一名外科專科醫生,在醫院規劃及行政管理方面有傑出成就。他前瞻性地開展「社康護士服務」及 「社區健康發展計劃」,為香港發展「沒有圍牆的醫療體系」開創先河。

秉承創會先賢巴治安醫生*「無牆醫院」的理念,基督教聯合那打素社康服務(簡稱社康)作為基層健康服務的先驅,四十多年來致力在社區層面推動「健康生活化 ‧ 生活健康化」,為市民提供專業、全面且收費相宜的醫療服務。

 

世紀60年代,當基督教聯合醫院仍在籌劃當中,巴治安醫生已預見當時醫院規模遠遠不能照顧到觀塘區人口的需要,因此他以「無牆醫院」的概念,將以往集中在醫院內的力量,散布在社區內運作,讓醫護人員進入社區,去作預防、教育及診治的工作,並於1972年創辦「觀塘社區健康發展計劃」,跨越醫院圍牆,將醫療服務延伸至社區,為社康發展基層健康服務,奠下良好基礎。

 

1972年3月16日,首間社區健康中心於秀茂坪邨啟用,為市民提供健康推廣、教育、預防、診治、復康及社區支援服務。

 

1997年4月1日,「觀塘社區健康發展計劃」與大埔區的「那打素社區健康服務計劃」合併,正式成為基督教聯合那打素社康服務。 

 

多年來,社康緊貼社會的發展,以回應不同階層人士的服務需求,在九龍、新界多個區域設立社區健康中心及醫療中心,為市民大眾提供預防家庭醫學、牙科、保健、中醫、社區營養、物理治療、心理輔導、診斷及社會服務等,旨在秉承「全人健康」的理念,推動市民促進健康及預防疾病,建設健康社區。

online booking